Skip to content

Lakes Area MINN STARKS 14U girls basketball team placed second at the Minnesota State AAU DII Championships on Sunday in Shakopee. They advanced to the semis with two decisive victories over metro teams on Saturday. An overtime win versus North Tartan SE gave them the opportunity to win back-to-back state championships after taking the DIII title in 2023. The team fell five points short, losing to Air MN 8th Grade 38-33. They finished the tournament season 13-6 and also won the Wisconsin Bash at the Bay championship on April 15.

Lakes Area MINN STARKS is coached by Central Lakes College assistant women's basketball coach Mark Lindquist. The team comprises area 14U players from a 90-mile radius of the Brainerd Lakes area. This is a satellite AAU basketball program from Starks Academy located in Duluth.

Bottom row left to right Emme Sullivan, Chelby Wothe, Claire Foote, Myla Abrams. Top row left to right: Sierra Gondringer, Clara Sherwood, Nora Wake, Tatum Morrison, Azli Pulak, Coach Mark Lindquist. photo credit Tiff Abrams

2024 All-Lake Superior Conference Golf Teams

Boys First Team

Peyton Menzel, Hermantown senior

Collin Young, Cloquet junior

Karson Young, Cloquet junior

Lance Sayler, Cloquet junior

Andrew Slatten, Hibbing junior

Boys Second Team

Holden Evjen, Hermantown senior

Jack Slattengren, Hermantown junior

Kyler Berg, Hermantown sophomore

Cooper Ellena, Cloquet senior

Anders Gunelson, Cloquet senior

Dallas Loftis, Proctor sophomore

Girls First Team

Izy Farchild, Hermantown senior

Brianna Dekich, Grand Rapids sophomore

Mai Peters, Grand Rapids junior

Kiera Dick, Grand Rapids junior

Leanna Johnson, Grand Rapids sophomore

Adison Johnson, Cloquet sophomore

Girls Second Team

Kate Clairmont, Grand Rapids senior

Abigail Steinert, Cloquet senior

JuliAnn Steinert, Cloquet senior

Syndey Burggraf, Grand Rapids senior

Jayla Jones, Proctor senior

Madeline Larson, Grand Rapids senior

Bulldogs Baseball Notebook

2024 Most Valuable PlayerJack Puder, IF, hit .354 and led the team in on-base plus slugging (1.043), runs batted in (46), total bases (104), and slugging percentage (.634). He also ended the season tied for first on the team with the most total triples (2) and total home runs (10).

2024 Rookie of the YearSam Kliber, IF-P, hit .308.

Most Improved PlayerOran Hinkle, OF, hit .337 with a .772 on-base slugging percentage.

Bulldog AwardJack Nemetz, C, graduating senior hit .221 with a .928 on-base plus slugging, finishing fourth on the team for home runs (7) and sixth on the team for slugging percentage (.544). 

2025 captains: INF Ethan Cole, C Michael Gabbard, 3B Gabe Richardson and P Henry Wilkinson.

Today's Prep Events


Hermantown at Superior

Esko at Rock Ridge

Grand Rapids at Hibbing

Mesabi East at Cherry

Ely at South Ridge

Braham at Moose Lake/Willow River


Esko at Cloquet

Hermantown at Grand Rapids

Superior at Hibbing

Rock Ridge at International Falls

East Central at Barnum

Mountain Iron/Buhl at Ely

Carlton/Wrenshall at North Woods

Cook County at Silver Bay

Detroit Lakes at Crosby-Ironton

South Ridge at Duluth Denfeld

Moose Lake/Willow River at Duluth East