Skip to content

The Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund, founded in 1949, has awarded its 2024 scholarships to 102 northern Minnesota students pursuing bachelor’s degrees in fields of study related to mathematics, engineering, the sciences, medicine and scientific research.

Ninety-five scholarships for $24,000 each were awarded to high school seniors. Seven additional awards were $12,000 College Transfer Pathway Scholarships, created this year for community college sophomores graduating with an associate in science degree who will be pursuing a qualifying bachelor's degree during their final two years of schooling at a four-year university. All told, the Alworth Memorial Fund awarded $2,364,000 in its 2024 round of scholarships.

Salo Downs

“During this, the Alworth Memorial Fund’s 75th anniversary, we are proud to help more than 100 hard-working northern Minnesota students fund their education,” said Patty Salo Downs, Executive Director of the Fund. “They join thousands of other Alworth scholars in sharing a passion for making the world a better place through advancements in math and science-related fields.”

The Alworth Memorial Fund has distributed $56.7 million among 5,394 motivated young people during its history. The Fund is available to students in 60 high schools, plus those who are homeschooled, in these 10 northern Minnesota counties: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Lake, Itasca, Koochiching and St Louis.

Additional information about the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund, including how to apply for future scholarships, is at

The 2024 recipients of $24,000 Alworth Scholarships, listed by high school, are immediately below. The seven recipients of $12,000 College Transfer Pathway Scholarships are below that.

Aitkin High School – Josie Kostick, Kendall Ratz

Barnum High School – Calindria Liggett

Bemidji High School – Faye Calvert, Elena Harmsen, Evan Langerak, Madeline Larson, Emma Mutnansky, Nicholas Rautio, William Termont, Marley Ueland

Brainerd High School – Molly Cartwright, Carley Cronquist, Evan DeBoer, Claire Erdal, Ashton Extrand, Lance Hastings, Elias Knapp, Lillian Kopek, Autumn Larson, Matthew Moraghan, Dilan Sypnieski

Chisholm High School – Sean Fleming

Cloquet High School – Owen Brenner, Makenna Horvat, Mary Kayser, Josilyn Nikko, Grace Swanson, Clara Thompson, Madysen Waters

Cook County High School – Kalina Dimitrova, Raymond Dressely, Wren Ferry

Crosby-Ironton High School – Aidan Bendson

Duluth Denfeld High School – Carter Hill, Camryn Seguin, Carter Wedin, Ziyah Xzandra

Duluth East High School – Chase Baumgarten, David Baumgarten, Roman Bixler, Arthur Phillip Calinao, Leah Coleman, Annabelle Eaton, Adelaida Filiatrault, Aleksandra Gavrilova, Lucia Haggenmiller, Michon Harju, Peter Kacharov, Lydia Kraker, Samantha Laderman, Evan Meyer, Ola Okoro, William Packer, Ella (Jaye) Shaw, Otto Signorelli, Taitum Snustad

Ely Memorial High School – Esther Anderson, Gavin Marshall

Esko Lincoln High School – Paul Cornell, Sophia Juntunen

Grand Rapids High School – Dane Allen, Molly Carlson, Samuel Connelly, Nathan Haley, Lauren Raitanen, Emily Timm, Emily Walters

Harbor City International School – Agnes Barthel, Hugh Bishop, Sydney Schaefer

Hermantown High School –  Ethan Stephenson, Connor Swor, Rachita Shalom Tamilselvan, Nayan Watson

Hibbing High School – Dylan Horvath

Littlefork-Big Falls High School – Ashley Splett

Marshall School – Madison Clavette, John Guthrie, Joseph Johnson, Daniel Qi, Xuejian Sundvall, Isabella Villa

McGregor High School – Ava Guida

Northome High School – Kierra Waller

Pequot Lakes High School – Ruby Seidl, Cole Sposito, Elizabeth Wolthuizen

Proctor High School – Benjamin Johnson

Rock Ridge High School – Ever Bernthal, Wrenna Galloway, Luke Hecimovich, Hudson Pietrini, Isabella Smith

Two Harbors High School – Jocelyn Carr

Alworth $12,000 College Transfer Pathway Scholarship recipients, shown with the community college from which they are transferring, are here:

William Bittmann – Minnesota North-Mesabi Range

Cody Dahlke – Minnesota North-Itasca

Grant Ewen – Minnesota North-Itasca

Kaitlyn Goodell – Minnesota North-Mesabi Range

Isabella Hass – Minnesota North-Itasca

Julie Sweep – Minnesota North-Hibbing

Scott Waara – Minnesota North-Itasca