Skip to content

Michelle Arnhold Davies joins board of Alworth Memorial Fund

The Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund, founded in 1949, has named Michelle Arnhold Davies to a five-year term on its Board of Directors.

Arnhold Davies

Since 2016, Arnhold Davies has been a Biology Faculty member at Minnesota North College-Itasca in Grand Rapids. An engaged member of the college community, she has served on several faculty and staff search committees and currently serves as the Faculty Association Co-President. She also serves on the St. Joseph’s Catholic School Board and the Reif Arts Council Board of Directors.

She joins other Alworth Board members and staff in providing $1.2 million in scholarships each year to northern Minnesota students pursuing a bachelor’s degree in mathematics, science, engineering and medical fields of study. New in 2024, Alworth scholarships are also available to students currently enrolled at designated two-year community colleges who plan to complete their STEM-related education at a four-year institution.

A 1993 Grand Rapids High School graduate, Arnhold Davies received an Alworth Scholarship to help fund her studies at Colorado College, from which she graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Neuroscience. She later earned her Ph.D. in Neuroscience from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, studying the Neural Pathways of Repeated Stress.

Prior to joining Minnesota North College-Itasca, Arnhold Davies was a Professor of Biology in the Department of Natural Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Superior from 2009 to 2016. She taught Human Anatomy and Physiology, Animal Physiology, Cell Biology, and Neuroscience; mentored student research projects and internships; was the co-founder and co-president of the Undergraduate Research Scholarship and Creative Activity Committee; served as the Biology Program Coordinator; and served on a number of Departmental and University committees.

“Michelle’s broad background in the sciences brings added expertise and perspectives to the Alworth Memorial Fund board, and we feel fortunate to have her join us,” said Board President Patty Phillips.

In addition to Phillips and Arnhold Davies, the Alworth board is comprised of Eric Albrecht, Charles Black Lance, Kurt Brooks, Marieta Johnson, Maggie Skelton and Jeff Wig.

Since 1949, the Alworth Memorial Fund has granted a total of $55 million in scholarships to more than 5,400 students. The Fund is available to students in 60 high schools, plus those who are homeschooled, in these 10 northern Minnesota counties: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Lake, Itasca, Koochiching and St Louis. There are currently over 260 active participants in the Alworth Scholarship program pursuing their degrees in colleges and universities across the U.S. and abroad. Learn more at