Skip to content

Northern Minnesota students chosen for Alworth Memorial Fund scholarships

Ashley R. Aker of Esko. Submitted

The Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund, founded in 1949, has awarded its latest round of scholarships to 76 northern Minnesota high school seniors pursuing bachelor’s degrees related to science, mathematics, engineering and medical fields of study.

Recipients from 30 high schools across 10 counties will each receive $20,000, distributed over eight semesters, beginning with the 2023-2024 school year. A list of the many fields of study that qualify for Alworth funding is at

“The Alworth Memorial Fund was set up to provide regional students with opportunities to be scientists, mathematicians, engineers, doctors, nurses, cancer researchers and many other careers to be of benefit to humanity,” said Patty Salo Downs, Executive Director of the Fund. “We have another outstanding group of scholarship recipients again this year, and we wish these fine young women and men well in their studies.”

The Alworth Memorial Fund has distributed more than $54 million among nearly 5,500 motivated young people during its history. The Fund is available to students in 60 high schools, plus those who are homeschooled, in these 10 northern Minnesota counties: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Lake, Itasca, Koochiching and St Louis.

Additional information about the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund, including how to apply for future scholarships, is at

The 2023-2024 Alworth Scholarship recipients, listed by high school, are as follows:

Aitkin – Landen S. Kollar, Samantha M. Much.

Barnum – Murray L. Salzer, Dylan C. Wallace.

Bemidji – Aster M. Burrow, Noelle E. Mueller, Lily E. Thomas.

(Bemidji) Trek North – Matthew D. Gladen.

Bigfork – Rebekah N. Storlie.

Brainerd – Tristyn N. Arndt, Emily G. Bastian, Ethan D. Diede, Hannah S. Drietz, Caitlyn M. Garnhardt, Elijah J. Hallgren, Zane E. Jacobi, Ellie M. Jensen, Julia B. Rademacher, Kamryn N. Rausch, Cole S. Riffle, Jacob W. Schlegel.

Cloquet – Tirsa R. Horton, Lauren P. Johnson, Casey J. Marciniak, Rowan E. Rock, Luke R. Sievert, Miigwan D. Tanner-Wostrel, Leo V. Thill.

Crosby-Ironton – Lillianna R. Young.

Deer River – Rhett J. Mundt.

Duluth Denfeld – Aryanna E. DeWitt, Claire M. Kloster, Madison M. McKean, Jessica M. Rose.

Duluth East – Emelyn C. Beaster, Emma R. Gilmore, Jared M. Johnson, Mary M. Karstens, Hadley S. Larson, Daisy F. Thralow, Stella I. Wheeler, Colin D. Willemsen.

(Duluth) Harbor City International – Earl T. Muecke, Andrea G. Roskoski, Mikell M. Schoonover.

(Duluth) Lakeview Christian Academy – Faith I. Matvey.

(Duluth) Marshall School – Drake W. Johnsrud, Kyla M. Rosman.

Ely – Phoebe G. Helms.

Esko – Ashley R. Aker, Cuinn M. Berger, Jessica R. Pagelkopf.

Eveleth-Gilbert – Jake M. Bradach, Jaden M. Lang.

Grand Rapids – Shea L. Huffman, Trevor J. Snetsinger.

Hermantown – Finnian R. Cleary, Colten A. Danelski, James H. Helmer, Rolan A. Kuznetsov.

Hibbing – Lela A. Rikkola, Lindsay M. Steinbrecher.

Home Schooled – Tate D. Blomquist (Cromwell), Ava F. Schapman (Duluth), Grant P. Wodny (Duluth).

International Falls – Trygg D. Hemstad.

Littlefork-Big Falls – Micah O. Chlebecek, Kallie J. Henrickson.

Moose Lake – Laura A. Stephenson.

North Woods (Cook/Orr) – Cooper N. Antikainen.

Northland (Remer) – Alexander L. Wake.

Proctor – Zachary E. Johnson.

South Ridge (Culver) – Sarah A. Somerville.

Two Harbors – Livia M. Dugas, Lamar G. Gordon, Olivia M. Hendren.

The next scholarship application period, for high school students graduating in 2024, runs Nov. 1, 2023, through Jan. 15, 2024.